The University of Basilicata was founded in 1981 and started its academic activities in 1982. It is a small but dynamic academic reality with its scientific and arts vocation. 

Located in Potenza and Matera the University of Basilicata, over its first thirty years, has set different and ambitious goals, among them: planning quality, expertise, didactic innovation, focus on research, integration with the territory and capacity to cross international circuits. Soon after the earthquake of 1980, its birth was accompanied by many hopes and a stronger idea of a University which could become a point of reference and the driving force of development and growth for the civil society, a place of skills training related to both the scientific field and that of liberal arts, a cornerstone of the interaction among cultural and socio-economic development needs at a regional, national and international level. Over these years, the contemporaneous growth of the University and the region, which has recently experienced a very significant period, has represented an important factor of experimentation also within the didactic and research field.

Over the years the previous Educational offer of the University and its four Faculties (Agriculture, Engineering, Letters and Philosophy, Mathematical, Physical and Natural Sciences) has been extended through the introduction of four further Faculties (Architecture, Economics, Pharmacy, Teacher Education) and the Postgraduate School in Archaeological Heritage, first and second level Masters and PhDs with a national and international flavour. Up to our current Educational offer which includes International Master Degree Courses of which we are protagonist together with other Universities and French and Spanish Institutes of Research. The Basilicata Regional Authority strongly contributed to these goals through the allocation of funds guaranteed by Law 12/2006, amended by Local Law no. 34 of 30/12/2010. Another important tile is represented by the programme agreement signed by the Italian Ministry of Education, University and Research – MIUR, the Basilicata Regional Authority and the University on the 3rd August 2011: a goal useful to allow the development and the rootedness in the territory and to promote the improvement in quality that the Region wants to achieve for the right to education policies. Within the scientific research sector, we aimed at the development and the technological innovation through the creation of networks with national and international stakeholders and the collaboration with local scientific partners.

Our path has been marked by results achieved thanks to the joint efforts of professors, researchers and technical-administrative staff. The daily dedication of all those working within the University is surely profitable. A synergy which is even more relevant during a significant period of changes like that the whole academic system is going through, therefore also our University for what concerns its internal structure. The introduction of the economic property accounting and the birth of Departments/Schools, overcoming the distinction between Faculties and Departments, as well as the different management of didactics and research, represent the first concrete implementations of the Law 240/2010 which settles the rules on the subject of reorganization of universities, academic staff and recruitment. The six structures, divided into four Departments and two Schools, will keep on guaranteeing the presence of the University in Potenza and Matera. From now on, we will hear talking about the DICEM (the Department of the Mediterranean and European Cultures: Architecture, Environment, Cultural Heritage), the Department of Mathematics, Computer Science and Economics, the Department of Sciences, the Department of Human Science, the School of Engineering (SI-UniBas) and the School of Agricultural, Forestry and Environmental Sciences.

These Structures will manage the Courses of Study which will be submitted to activities of Self-evaluation, periodic Evaluation and Validation (AVA) according to the Ministerial Decree 240/2010 and the Ministerial Decree no. 47 of 30th January 2013.

The academic year 2013/2014 sees the start of the above-mentioned AVA process. The University of Basilicata has obtained the validation for all the Courses of Study included within the Educational Offer as well as for the campus of Potenza and Matera and also a Quality Unit has been created. The same process has been activated within the research field through the rules defined by the National Agency for the Evaluation of Universities and Research Institutes.

List of Rectors

from 1982 to 30.10.1994 Prof. Cosimo Damiano Fonseca
from November 1994 to June 2000 Prof. Gianfranco Boari
from September 2000 to October 2006 Prof. Francesco Lelj Garolla Di Bard
from October 2006 to June 2009 Prof. Antonio Mario Tamburro
from October 2009 to June 2014 Prof. Mauro Fiorentino
from October 2014 to today Prof.ssa Aurelia Sole