The Area

The University of Basilicata is located in the South of Italy, in Basilicata Region. Basilicata borders on Puglia to the north and east, Campania to the west and Calabria to the south having short south-western coastline on the Tyrrhenian Sea and a longer one to the southeast on the Ionian Sea. Basilicata has two provinces: Potenza and Matera. The regional capital is the city of Potenza. It covers 9,992 km² and is one of the most sparsely populated regions of Italy (approximately 587.517 inhabitants).Basilicata offers the well preserved heritage of genuine hospitality, traditional values, natural resources, ancient customs and gastronomy.

Rich in untouched vegetation, the region is primarily mountainous and hilly, with flat lands along the Ionian coast. Villages stood on mountain tops (Pietrapertosa and Castelmezzano), towns hewn out of volcanic tufa (the Sassi of Matera, a UNESCO world heritage site), Greek temples along the Ionian coast, Frederician castles, the city of Horace (Venosa), the pearl of the Tyrrhenian (Maratea), the Pollino National Park, the Gallipoli Cognato Regional Park, the Lucanian Dolomites and the Natural History and Archaeological Park of Murgia, are just some of the delights that the region offers. 


Useful links



Potenza & Matera

Potenza is the regional capital of Basilicata and at an altitude of 819m. Founded in Roman times, most of the town with its ancient building and sites was destroyed by several earthquakes (the last one was in 1980). It stands along the Apennine ridge on the left of the river Basento and is enclosed by charming and uncontaminated mountains of Rifreddo, Sellata and of the Dolomiti lucane.
The historic centre of Potenza is located in the upper part of the city and is accessible via escalators, the longest in Europe. There are several sights to visit in the centre of the city, including the “Palazzo del Governo”, the recently restored ‘Stabile’ theatre, the Medieval Church of the Trinità, the Palazzo Loffredo which hosts the National Archaeological Museum, the church of San Francesco of Assisi, founded in 1274, the Romanesque church of San Michele Arcangelo, dating back to the 11thcentury, the Cathedral of Potenza in which the Saint Gerardo’s remains, the patron of Potenza, are kept.


Matera is one of the most interesting, fascinating and amazing destinations in Italy, famous for its extensive cave-dwelling districts, the sassi, the rupestrian churches and the natural areas that preserves an unique habitat. In 1993 the town was made a UNESCO World Heritage site, for being "the most outstanding, intact example of a troglodyte settlement in the Mediterranean region, perfectly adapted to its terrain and ecosystem. The first inhabited zone dates from the Palaeolithic, while later settlements illustrate a number of significant stages in human history".
The stunning landscape of Matera has been chosen to shoot many films, including the "The Passion of Christ" by Mel Gibson.
Matera awarded the title of “ 2019 European Capital of Culture” in Italy


Basilicata's climate owes much to the region's position itself under the influence of the three adjacent seas (Tyrrhenian, Adriatic and Ionian) and to the region's particularly tormented orography, with the mountain ranges never aligned in the same direction. In fact, despite their southern latitude many zones have rather low annual average temperatures: low winter temperatures, falling below zero at higher altitudes, can produce harsh winters while summers are relatively warm with significant variations in temperature. Temperatures rise significantly, especially in the summer months, as one goes towards Matera and the Ionian coast.

How to get to Potenza and Matera

The nearest airports to Potenza are Rome "Fiumicino" (380 km) and Naples "Capodichino"(160 km) while the nearest airport to Matera is Bari "Palese"(70 km). Both Potenza and Matera can be reached:

by train: see the State Railways' site for details  or
by bus : Autolinee Liscio  and Autolinee Marino. The "Autolinee Liscio" Bus service runs through Rome - Potenza - Matera (for the bus timetable, click here) and Capodichino Airport- Naples - Salerno - Potenza (for the bus timetable, click here).

From Naples (Metropark railway station - terminal bus) to Matera (Via Don L.Sturzo Chiesa S.Paolo) you can take also the "Autolinee Marino" bus Service.

If you need to reach Potenza from Bari, both by train and bus, you can find all the useful information on the Ferrovie Appulo Lucane website .